Skip to main content

What is the Standard?

What is the Standard?

The Safer Gambling Standard is an independent quality standard, accredited by UKAS, that assesses the measures gambling businesses have put in place to protect people from experiencing gambling-related harm.

  • The Standard criteria

    The Standard covers 5 areas which are the foundation to building a safer gambling approach - Culture, Customer Environment, Customer Management, Colleagues, Collaboration.

  • The assessment process

    The assessment includes a review of the policies, procedures, systems and controls of a gambling business, as well as interviews with staff, website reviews and premises visits.

  • Levels of award

    Assurance is stepped, giving businesses a clear road map for improvement. Businesses can be awarded from Base Level of the Standard up to Advanced Level 3 depending on the degree to which their approach to safer gambling goes beyond regulatory requirements.

  • Why to go for an assurance?

    Assured businesses are listed on this website by their level of award, allowing you to identify businesses who place safer gambling at the forefront of their operations and who are continually looking to do more to minimise gambling harms experienced by their customers.

  • A constantly evolving Standard

    An expert panel reviews the provisions of the Standard on an annual basis to incorporate any changes in regulatory requirements and good practice guidelines, the opinions of people affected by problem gambling, and new insights from academic research.

  • Who are GamCare?

    We are a charity and the UK's leading provider of free information, advice and support for anyone affected by problem gambling. Part of our goal is to work with the gambling industry to support customers and prevent people from experiencing gambling-related harm.

Safer Gambling Commitments

In November 2019, leading gambling businesses committed to achieving Advanced Levels of the Safer Gambling Standard over the next five years as part of a package of initiatives aimed at reducing gambling harms to customers and young people.

Read about the Levels

Why become assured?

  • Support: Get independent advice on your performance
  • Benchmark: Our different levels show how you compare to other businesses in safer gambling
  • Prevent: Your assurance fees are re-invested in GamCare's support and outreach services