Skip to main content

How to apply

The Standard

The Standard covers 10 areas, and up to 58 criteria, which are the foundation to building a safer gambling approach.

The Standard covers 10 areas and up to 58 separate criteria which are the foundation to building a safer gambling approach.  The Level of Award a gambling business can receive also depends upon the degree to which the business can evidence meeting up to 15 Advanced Level criteria. The 10 areas of the Standard are shown below.  Download the latest version of the Safer Gambling Standard here


The Standard areas

  1. To ensure the gambling business embeds a culture of safer gambling within its organisation and for customers through establishing effective policies and processes that are supported at the Board/Executive team level. (up to 25% of advanced level can be achieved)


  2. The business supports and promotes activities and good practices that work towards the eradication of gambling-related harm.  (up to 5% of advanced level can be achieved)

  3. The business provides an annual financial contribution to relevant organisations and/or charities supporting at risk and problem gamblers, or through developing a safer gambling experience for their own customers, such as through the use of safer gambling tools.  (up to 10% of advanced level can be achieved)

  4. The business has a proactive approach to ensure customers are of a legal age to gamble and has effective measures in place to protect *young adults from gambling-related harm.  (up to 8% of advanced level can be achieved)

    Note: *Young adults are in the age group of between 18 and 21 years (or 16 and 21 years for lotteries where those between 16 and 18 years are permitted to play lotteries). 

  5. 5(a) Customer Information, profiling, and interaction.  (up to 25% of advanced level can be achieved)

    The business has a proactive approach and effective processes in place to identify with customers experiencing harm from gambling or those ‘at risk’ of experiencing harm.

    5(b) Protection of Vulnerable Customers.

    The business has effective systems and controls in place to define, identify and interact with customers showing signs of vulnerability.  The definition for vulnerability could include changes in a player’s behavior which may have been brought about by external events or changes in  their economic and social circumstances.  Customer Interaction Guidance for Remote and Non-Remote businesses issued by the Gambling Commission in July 2019 are examples of documents which include information on factors which can indicate customers vulnerability.  Businesses usually identify such customers as ‘high risk’ based on behaviours, with such behaviours being identified by monitoring patterns of customers gameplay in land-based and online environments.

    5(c) Additional controls in place for High Value Customers (HVCs).

    The business is able to demonstrate the systems and controls it has in place to comply with the requirements of the Gambling Guidance on High Value Customers (HVC) issued in September 2020.  Individuals whose gambling custom is of high commercial value to businesses are often labelled as ‘VIPs’, ‘HVCs’, or equivalent.  Such customers might receive tailored bonuses, gifts, hospitality, and preferential service, and can also be more heavily engaged gamblers in terms of their gambling spend, the frequency with which they gamble, or both.

  6. The business ensures that its products and tools provide an accessible form of gambling to its customers within an environment which minimises the risk of customers experiencing gambling-related harm, while identifying opportunities to further protect customers from gambling-related harm in the development of new tools.  (up to 2% of advanced level can be achieved)

  7. The business actively safeguards customers from experiencing harm from gambling through implementing an effective approach to self-exclusion.  (up to 5% of advanced level can be achieved)

  8. The business’s approach to advertising and promotion, including social media, loyalty, bonus and free play schemes, align with its approach to minimising gambling harm.  (up to 5% of advanced level can be achieved)

  9. The business ensures the quality, integrity and professionalism of its staff to enforce its safer gambling approach.  (up to 10% of advanced level can be achieved)


  10. The business embraces a culture of accountability and support to foster safer gambling amongst staff who gamble.

Download the Standard

Version 3.1 2021

Download the Standard document for full details on the assessment process and criteria.

Download the Standard

A constantly evolving Standard

The requirements of the Safer Gambling Standard are updated every year to build upon developments in regulation and safer gambling good practice.  Any business achieving the Safer Gambling Standard is required to keep pace with such developments if they are to continue to meet the Standard in future. See previous versions of the Standard.

Access summary of document changes from V2.0 2020 to V3.1 2021

Why become assured?

  • Support: Get independent advice on your performance
  • Benchmark: Our different levels show how you compare to other businesses in safer gambling
  • Prevent: Your accreditation fees are re-invested in GamCare's support and outreach services